A toddler cardigan using bulky yarn and a free pattern

A very long time ago, I bought some bulky weight cotton on sale and then for many months, wondered if I would ever use it. Then one day I decided our little toddler needed a long sleeve light cardigan for Autumn when it can be warm and cold all on the same day.

So I went to my stash and had a dig around. No, wool in double knit or chunkier would be too hot. Wool in a light 4ply could be good but let me see what else I have. Then I opened the cotton stash box and I spied the bulky cotton yarn that I had bought on special all those months ago. The bulkiness of the yarn would add that extra warmth that a lighter weight cotton cardigan wouldn’t.

DSC06384

OK, so now I have selected the yarn, what about a pattern? I don’t have any bulky weight toddler patterns. So I did what any smart knitter would do and searched the multitude of free patterns on Ravelry.

This is what I found. The pattern is a free Lion Brand cardigan and is called Fairy Tale Cardy. It is written for their super bulky cotton / acrylic yarn, Baby’s First yarn and was a close match to my stashed yarn. After a quick swatch and needle adjustment, I started the cardigan.

I am so happy with it. I love the colours and I love the pattern. This free pattern was very easy to follow and there were no mistakes. Maybe I should knit with bulky yarn more often. This only took a night or so to make.

DSC_0018

Pattern book – Lion Brand Yarn website
Pattern – Fairy Tale Cardi by Lion Brand Yarn – (free pattern)
Yarn – Wendy Supreme Luxury Cotton Chunky
Link to Ravelry project here

One comment

Leave a Reply

