Granny squares sweater and a poor little tyke

I had planned to write this post today. It is the post that goes with a previous post about crocheted granny squares. But this morning when I woke up I reached for the iPad to check WordPress Reader to see what’s new on the blogs that I follow. And I found this. The Sweaty Knitter, Weaver and Devotee of Other Fine Arts blog post starts off by saying “Please tell me that I am not the only woman of a certain age who shudders and pales as she remembers the 1970s women’s fashions utilizing granny squares!” Uh oh. Hmmm. She goes on to say “Nor were children immune, poor little tykes, as can be seen of this picture of a child stoically wearing his granny square vest!” (The photos in her post are classic!) Oh no! What have I done to my little granddaughter! Poor little tyke. I have made her a sweater out of granny squares! DSC_0016 Funny thing, when I showed my daughter the granny square sweater pattern she didn’t seem very enthusiastic about it. I took it that she was just tired. What child wouldn’t want a retro granny square sweater! So off I skipped to my stash, selected my colours and gaily crocheted my granny squares while my husband drove us both to work. We travel two and a half hours each day to and from work so I get a lot done. I gave the sweater to my daughter a few weeks ago and funnily enough I haven’t received a photo of the grandchild smiling into the camera wearing the said finished object. She tells me her camera is broken.

Pattern book – Cute and Easy Crocheted Baby Clothes by Nicki Trench
Pattern – Springtime Jumper
Yarn – Bits and pieces from my stash (details on Ravelry)
Link to Ravelry here

5 comments

  1. It turned out lovely and the pattern looks updated not retro. I am going to look for the book because I badly want to make this.

Leave a Reply

