Worsted weight toddler vest and a free pattern

I found this gorgeous post last week while I was on the way to work. The post was so beautifully photographed that I had to follow the link to the pattern because I wanted one just like that for my little girl. The pattern is called Neighborly and is provided free on Ravelry by Jennifer Casa. Aren’t some people amazing to let us have their patterns for free! This one is knitted top down and in the round with no seaming. The little neckband is knitted first in one long thin strip and then the stitches for the body are picked up along the edge of the neckband. The neckband is meant to be blocked flat before picking up the stitches but I decided that I liked the rolled look, so chose not to block it at all. DSC_0011 I had some gorgeous home spun yarn in my stash that I really wanted to use. I have had it for a while and it was only 1 skein of 130 grams so not enough to do anything with on its own, since I don’t generally knit hats or scarves. The homespun yarn would be perfect for the stripes and I had planned to use a purple marled worsted wool as the main colour. So that evening I did a sample knit with both the purple Misti Alpaca and the homespun yarn.  Unfortunately, they both ended up as different gauges and I was unsure whether I could use both these yarns together or not. The next day I spoke to my favourite local yarn store and we decided that it would be ok as long as I didn’t do too many rows in the homespun stripe at one time. I think it turned out beautifully. The pattern is written in one size (3-5 years) and uses yarn that has an 18 stitch gauge. My little girl is only 2 so I used a yarn that has a 20 stitch gauge and the size turned out just right. Perfect as we move into our winter down here in the Southern hemisphere . The mornings are starting to get cool but the days can still be very hot so what could be better than a cute little purple striped vest for daycare. IMG_0888

UPDATED May 2105 – Another nieghborly vest for our little girl.

DSC_0046

Pattern available as a Ravelry download –(free pattern)
Pattern – Neighborly
Yarn – Tonos Worsted Misti Alpaca and homespun
Link to Ravelry project here

Leave a Reply

