A Debbie Bliss baby blanket for Sebastian

 

DSC_0081

This is my third baby blanket I have made in the last two years.

The first one was for my first grandbaby boy, Memphis.
The second one was for my first grandbaby girl, Mia.
The third one is for my second grandbaby boy, Sebastian.

Sebastian hasn’t been born yet. He is due in the middle of December in the cold north of England. Sebastian’s mum is my husband’s daughter, so I let him choose the pattern. I think he chose wisely. This blanket made of aran panels with moss stitch in between, is cosy and warm.

The Sampler Blanket was designed by Debbie Bliss and is in a couple of her books, Blankets, Bears & Booties (aka Booties, Blankets & Bears) and The Ultimate Book of Baby Knits.

It is knitted in one piece, which means there is no stitching together of panels and no border to be knitted at the end, which is great considering the blanket takes such a long time to knit.

DSC_0065

I used the same yarn as I did for the other two baby blankets because they both still look amazing, even after so many washes.

This is my first blog post in a while because most of my recent knitting has been for Sebastian’s mum and I didn’t want to spoil the surprise for her, just in case she reads my blog. She has now received her knitting parcel so no surprise had been spoiled.

Pattern book – Blankets, Bears & Booties / Booties, Blankets & Bears and The Ultimate Book of Baby Knits
Pattern – Sampler Blanket
Yarn – Shepherd Baby Wool Merino 4ply
Link to Ravelry here

12 comments

      1. I rarely have the patience to block, and it’s really a matter of preference, especially when it’s not fine lacework or garments that need sizing. Not blocking sometimes looks more cozy, which is perfect for a blanket. A real heirloom piece!

  1. I love it! It’s curently sitting in his hospital bag ready to wrap him up snug on his way home from hospital when he arrives. Temp has dropped to 0 today. 🙂 xx

Leave a Reply

