Little Vintage Sunday Coat

I was in my local yarn store a few months ago and the lady was knitting a gorgeous little baby’s coat as a shop sample. The pattern book she was using was King Cole baby book 5. I looked through the book and decided I had to buy it even though the sizes only go up to 12 – 18 months and my grandbabys were already 11 and 13 months old. I took the book home and then promptly forgot about it.

A few weeks ago, I was looking through my knitting books for something to make a baby due in December and I came across this book! Oh dear. My babies have almost grown out of it before I had a chance to make anything from it. So a quick dash to my daughters with the book in hand and an hour or so later I came away with three patterns carefully selected for me to knit over the next few months.

photo 2

 

And of course, the first one was the little Vintage Sunday Coat that the lady was making as a shop sample on that fateful day. As soon as I got home I dived into my double knit stash and was lucky enough to find three different colours of Sublime Cashmere Merino and Silk yarn that I had bought a few months ago on sale.

photo 1

And yes, I know there will come a time when this dainty wee girl will not be wearing a baby coat made of luxury yarn at the local playground. But oh well. She is still learning to walk so it was her knees and hands that got covered in sand, not the coat.

Pattern book – King Cole baby book 5
Pattern – Little Vintage Sunday Coat
Yarn – Sublime Cashmere Merino Silk DK
Link to Ravelry here

4 comments

Leave a Reply

