Cable Toddler Vest

I so badly wanted to knit this cute little cabled vest.

So when my grand baby boy was 12 months old I asked his mum if she would like me to knit him a vest. She said no, she didn’t think so. So I pulled the pattern up on my iPad and showed her what I meant….and she still said no.  How disappointed I was. I had some yarn in my stash just waiting to be cast on for this little cable toddler vest.

So a wee while later, I decided I would make this for my daughter’s friend’s little boy who was turning 3 this winter. And then I checked the washing instructions on the label of the yarn I had ready and waiting patiently in my stash and realised it was hand wash only. The 3 year old was about to have a newborn baby brother in the house so I am thinking his mum would probably not appreciate a hand wash vest for an active 3 year old.

So the vest pattern and the yarn waited.

And then I made a little green fair aisle cardigan for my grand baby boy. When his dad saw the cardigan he said it would be better without the sleeves so it would be more like a vest. Aha, so dad would be happy for his son to wear a vest. So out came the pattern once more and a further discussion was had. This vest was then promptly cast on the needles. Four days later, here we are.

photo 1

 

photo 2

Pattern website – yarnspirations.com
Pattern – Keene Toddler Vest (free pattern)
Yarn – Naturally Aran Tweed and Naturally Loyal 10ply
Link to Ravelry here

8 comments

  1. I’ve had people say no to knitted items and now it doesn’t bother me as it’s their
    loss!! lol I only knit for those who will appreciate it. The little vest is adorable, love
    the colours. Go the mighty knitters.
    Cheers. Anita.

Leave a Reply

