An adult sized knitted tee shirt

DSC_0013

I bought some beautiful blue cotton yarn at a very good price. I hadn’t knitted for myself for many, many years so I was hesitant.

What shape might suit me? What size was I? Can I trust that this pattern will fit properly? I hope I get it right because I know what I am like. If I don’t get it right the first time, I won’t ever knit anything for myself again. None of this “if at first you don’t succeed, try, try again”. Oh no, not for me. If you don’t get it right first time, give up and move onto the next thing. Some people call that impatience.

So I finally decided on a pattern (free on Ravelry) and then I cast on the stitches. This was my car knitting in case the baby knitting I was  working on at the time, was too intricate.  It has taken a while to finish as there was no hurry. It was really only a bit of a test.

And test me it did. I misread the pattern and I didn’t realise until I had knitted most of the back. I got to the armhole shaping and realised it was too long and the waist shaping wasn’t in the right place. My instant reaction….stupid pattern, you should know better than to trust a free pattern! But oh how wrong I was. I had misread the pattern and stupidly knitted 14cm before I started shaping instead of 14 rows! So I frogged and started again. Luckily I do have some patience or I may not have bothered to start again.

Then I got the back done and I was up to the neck on the front and I decided to hold the front up to my body. I was so disappointed. It looked way too small. Who wants a tee shirt stretching tightly over my stomach at my age! I said to my husband, “I have wasted all this knitting time on this stupid thing. I have made a size too small and I am going to pull the whole thing undone and make a bigger size. Some people call that being impetuous.

I had my hand clasped over the stitches on the needle and the other hand holding the end of the needle and started to pull and my husband who was driving, told me to stop. He said just keep going and that it would be ok. It will fit. He said you can’t tell by holding it in front of you and stretching it out. What does he know!

But I listened to him. Maybe he is right but I doubt it very much! So I kept on knitting, feeling quite grumpy. What a waste of time.

Well, I finished it and I sewed it up and then I put it on ready to be disappointed and then I smiled. I smiled a big wide smile and walked out into the lounge wearing my smile and my new tee shirt that I had knitted for me.

I proudly wore it to my sisters this weekend. I came home without my tee shirt. She loved it so much and it was her birthday so I said I would knit her one just the same. We went and bought the cotton for hers (same colour) but all weekend she kept saying, “you make sure you stop all that baby knitting you’re doing and get my tee shirt started.” I didn’t want the pressure so I took my tee shirt off and left it with her and said I would make myself a new one. She was so very happy. Now all I have to do is do it all over again.

Pattern book – Internet – Free pattern on Ravelry
Pattern – Nothing but a t-shirt
Yarn – Crucci Mercerized Cotton
Link to Ravelry project here

2 comments

  1. Oh, I really like this t-shirt and yours looks great. I’ve started so many sweaters for myself but ended up abandoning them because they just don’t look right. I think I will give this pattern a try and hopefully I can actually finish it!!

    1. I am so lucky that this was \such a nice fitting pattern, otherwise I would probably never have attempted again. I have just bought some bright pink cotton so now I have 2 waiting to be done. Good luck with your t-shirt.

Leave a Reply

