Baby singlet with a heart motif

 

IMG_1786

My daughter asked me if I would make her Canadian friend a warm singlet for her baby.

When my daughter was first pregnant, I decided it was time for her to learn to knit and this is the pattern I chose for her very first project for her very first baby. She made her little singlet out of luxurious baby alpaca in newborn size and it fitted her tiny baby perfectly…until her partner washed it on a non delicate cycle in the washing machine (or did he wash it in a hot wash) and the singlet came out felted and small enough to fit a doll. I could tell she was devastated.

So this simple but gorgeous little singlet with the heart motif is the one I chose to make for her friend’s baby. Mia modelled the singlet (above) before it was sent to her friend, Georgia. I think she wanted to keep it.

UPDATED March 2014 with a picture of gorgeous little Georgia in her singlet. (I can’t make the picture any bigger.)

Georgia

UPDATED April 2014. I made one for Mia for the summer in 90% cotton and 10% cashmere yarn.

IMG_2804

UPDATED March 2015

I was asked by my daughter to knit another one of these little heart singlets for a friend who is having a summer baby but we don’t know if it is a boy or a girl.

DSC_0010

Pattern book – Filatura Di Crosa Supercashmere
Pattern – 11 Singlet
Yarn – Lullaby baby merino, Lotus Autumn Wind and Heirloom organic cotton
Link to Ravelry project here and here and here

5 comments

Leave a Reply

