Debbie Bliss Rialto Lace

DSC_0029

How very, very lucky I am.

I wandered into my local yarn store a few days ago. The owner knows I love cute little baby patterns and she had recently got a copy of an old Plunket Society  baby singlet pattern. It was so gorgeous and lacy and when she saw me oohing and aahing over the pattern, she gave me a copy (as it does not have a copyright).

The pattern uses 2ply and there in the shop was Debbie Bliss Rialto Lace. I picked up a ball of this delicately fine wool and squeezed it and it was so soft and beautiful. (One thing about buying from your local yarn store instead of online, is that you can squeeze before you buy.)

DSC_0035

Look at the strands. Aren’t they just beautiful. Look how fine they are.

The owner of the shop happened to mention that she must get one of the Plunket singlets made up for the shop as a sample. I said I would be happy to make one for her. So we  made a deal. She gave me the ball of Debbie Bliss Rialto Lace, which should be enough for two singlets.  She pays her knitters in the equivalent of yarn but if the pattern is intricate, then there is some negotiation. I wasn’t expecting payment in any way when I offered but I was more than happy with outcome.

Now all I have to do it knit up these beautiful singlets. Oh dear, the singlet has a crochet edge. Can I remember how to crochet?

5 comments

  1. It does look a beautiful ball of yarn, Debbie Bliss yarns are wonderful to knit with. You must post a picture of the finished singlet!

  2. After sending a donation to the Plunket Society , I had patterns for booties and a singlet. sent to me. The singlet pattern is incorrectly printed with wrong needles sizes ,This should be altered. I have looked on the internet and found it corrected but the wrong one is also there.I have knitted a pair of booties and now that I have the right pattern I will go ahead with the singlet

    1. Thanks for the update. I noticed too that they had an unclear needle size. I have made it with both 3mm and 3.25mm.
      I was pleased to see the Internet pattern had been changed.

Leave a Reply

