A little pink Debbie Bliss tank top

DSC_0013

There are some Debbie Bliss baby patterns that are just so irresistible. For some reason, this is one of them. It is a simple little tank top but the detail is so dainty and oh so cute. The purl stitch on the knit side (and then purl on the reverse side) is such a simple stitch and needs very little concentration.

DSC_0010

There is a dainty little opening at the back to give an easy fit over baby’s rather large head with one little buttonhole and one pink button to hold it together. I just love the way the neck and armhole edges are cast off knit wise on the wrong side to just add another little feature.

IMG_3878

So here is my first baby girl vest. Our baby girl is 12 months old and the biggest size for this pattern is 9-12 months. To make it even harder on myself, I am using 4ply when the pattern is written for 5ply. So I was a bit worried that the vest might be too small. But our little girl is an average size 1 year old and I had read from the wonderful Ravelry people that the pattern knits up quite big, as do many Debbie Bliss patterns.

So I knitted away “with confidence” after doing a tension square and luckily the vest has turned out to be a perfect size for our one year old baby girl.
I love the colour. I love the little pattern detail and I love the back opening.

Pattern book – Debbie Bliss The Ultimate Book of Baby Knits
Pattern – Vest
Yarn – Fabulous Fibres Wooly 4ply Baby Merino
Link to Ravelry here

4 thoughts on “A little pink Debbie Bliss tank top

Leave a Reply

