Rowan fox cardigan for a 1 year old baby boy

I have this wonderful Rowan pattern book, Rowan Studio 30. It has some gorgeous patterns and each one has instructions for birth to 5 years. This is so much more useful than most books that I have which are from birth to 18 months. I have made a couple of patterns already from this Rowan kids book. I have made a cute little cable cardigan called Kurt and a gorgeous short sleeve cardigan with lace panels called Rapunzel. The patterns are well written and extremely easy to follow.

DSC_0067

One of the patterns I have been admiring in this book is Friedrich but there are so many very cute patterns that it is hard to choose which one to knit. So when it was time to make my 12 month old grandbaby boy a nice warm cardigan for winter, I asked his mum which pattern she would like and she chose Friedrich. I was very excited that she chose this pattern and went straight to my stash and discovered I had most of the wool. The only colour I had to go out and buy was orange to knit the foxes. (Don’t you just love having a stash that you can dig into at any time.)

DSC_0048

So here is Friedrich all finished. I did some planning before I started this cardigan. I went onto Ravelry and looked really closely at the foxes of the cardigans others had made. The pattern said to use fair aisle method for the foxes by carrying the wool across but I don’t seem to have a lot of luck with that method and end up puckering whatever it  is that I am trying to make. So I knitted up a couple of samples to see if I could get the foxes to sit nicely. They didn’t.

So I looked again at Ravelry and found a cardigan with foxes that sat perfectly flat. I messaged the person who had made the cardigan and asked how she made her foxes. I asked if she used the fair aisle method or did she use Intarsia? But surprise surprise, she did neither. She made the cardigan and then duplicate stitched the foxes on after. Panic set in. I had never done duplicate stitch before but her foxes were so good and my previous samples had been so disappointing, that I needed to be brave and try something new.

So off my needles came another sample, this time with no fox on it but just a blank white canvas where the fox needed to go. Out came the iPad and a few searches later for duplicate stitch “how to”, I had  my first sample completed with a nice flat fox. Thank you to Ravelry’s Knitacat for your help and thank you Rowan for this amazing kid’s pattern book.

Pattern book – Rowan Studio issue thirty
Pattern – Friedrich
Yarn – Cleckheaton Merino Angora Silk 8ply
Link to Ravelry here

 

4 comments

Leave a Reply

