Little lacy summer tunic dress for baby

IMG_1934

I made a mistake one day and bought this gorgeously soft baby yarn on sale, only to realise once I got it home that it was 3ply. I don’t really like knitting with 3ply. I used to use it all the time when my children were babies but it does take such a long time to finish a 3ply garment. It takes so many more stitches and so many more rows and just doesn’t seem to grow quickly enough.

But I had three balls of Filatura Di Crosa Monbebe print and didn’t want to waste it.

IMG_1929

So I searched my pattern books for something that would suit the variegated yarn and found a little short sleeve cardigan in a very old Patons book. I loved the little cardigan but one day when I was in my local yarn store, I found a Filatura Di Crosa pattern book that had some patterns specifically for the Monbebe yarn. So of course I had to buy it.

So I now had two patterns to choose from for this beautiful, soft but fine yarn. The short sleeve cardigan and a little tunic from my new pattern book. So I asked my daughter which one she wanted me to make for her baby. She chose the tunic. For some reason I was disappointed and tried to talk her out of it but she was adamant. She wanted the tunic.

So I knitted the tunic. A bit begrudgingly I must say. Was all that 3ply lace work really going to be worth the effort? Is the variegated colour going to suit the intricate lace pattern? The picture in the pattern book was not very exciting and the baby they used in the photo looked very unhappy and was lying in an awkward pose. But my daughter must have seen something in that pattern that I didn’t!

DSC_0058

And she was right. This little tunic is very cute and fun to make.

It did take quite a while to read the lace pattern in my head, but once I had, it was a joy to knit. The lace is very pretty. The little rib top is a gorgeous contrast to the lace skirt. The simple crochet edge around the armholes and neck gives it a very cute finish and I love the little neck opening at the back. As I was knitting it however, I was still uncertain about the variegated colour and the lace. But as soon as my daughter saw it, she gave a big smile and said that this was now her new favourite. So that is good enough for me.

Pattern book – Filatura Di Crosa
Pattern – Overdress #7
Yarn – Filatura Di Crosa Monbebe
Link to Ravelry project here

11 comments

  1. Gorgeous! Also, congratulate your daughter for me for using cloth nappies on her baby! It’s hard work, but worth it!

Leave a Reply

