Short Sleeve Wool Cardigan for Baby

DSC_0023

My son bought these cute little “Blade and Rose” tights for his baby niece when she was very tiny but we knew she would grow into them.

Being a typical (aka loving) nana, I just had to make a little cardigan to match. So with tights in hand, I was prepared to visit every knitting store for the perfect colour yarn. But what a shame I didn’t have an excuse to visit every knitting store, I found the perfect match in the first store I visited. I did all of this when the baby was a few weeks old and I had no idea how big she would be when she would be wearing these tights. The label said they were size 6 to 12 months. So I bought five balls of this wool, just to be sure I had enough for whatever I decided to do with it. If she fits these tights at 12months old it would be the middle of winter and I might want to knit a long sleeve cardigan and perhaps a stripy a top to go under it so five balls should be plenty.

DSC_0013

Well, these tights fitted her at five months! And at five months old, it is summer time here in New Zealand so a long sleeve cardigan and a top made in 100% merino wool is perhaps a bit hot. So I decided to make her a short sleeve cardigan for the cooler summer days in a 6 month size.

Oops, when I had almost finished knitting the cardigan, I realised I got my “numbers in the brackets” wrong and I had actually made a 3 month size instead. So much for planning. Never mind, it only took a few days to knit and I have PLENTY of wool left over. (This little cardigan took just over one ball of wool.) I can always make another one but this fits her for now.

This pattern is very similar to another Filatura Di Crosa cardigan I knitted in a newborn size. I love the little two buttons on both these patterns.

Pattern book – Filatura Di Crosa Baby
Pattern – Short or Long Sleeve Jacket
Yarn – Shepherds Baby Wool Merino 4ply
Link to Ravelry project here

2 comments

Leave a Reply

