Short sleeve summer cotton cardigan for baby

DSC_0006

One of my girl’s friends is having a baby in November and asked me if I would knit something for the baby to fit her when she is three months old. That will be the middle of New Zealand’s hot summer so I thought I would make a short sleeve cardigan. What little three month old baby doesn’t need a short sleeve summer cardigan for the cooler evenings.

DSC_0007

I wanted to make something out of cotton but most cottons are not machine washable and I know both my girls with new babies do not have time to hand wash baby clothes. So I found this Sirdar Calico yarn, which is a mix of 60% cotton and 40% acrylic and machine washable. It is nice and soft but I’m not so sure if I like the feel of it but it may be that I have been knitting with baby merino wool or alpaca and am comparing unfairly.

DSC_0009

The pattern with the moss stitch detail is very easy to make and being double knit weight, knits up very quickly. This is one of the first patterns I have found recently that does not have any errors in the pattern.

Pattern leaflet – UKHKA 79
Pattern – Short Sleeve Cardigan
Yarn – Sirdar Calico DK
Link to Ravelry project here

3 comments

  1. That’s lovely! It’ll be perfect for evenings or early morning. Summer seems a long way away here. I’m sure the yarn you’ve chosen is fine, but Debbie Bliss does do a 100% cotton that’s machine washable (Eco Baby) if you wanted one for something else.

Leave a Reply

