Baby sleeping bag for babies who won’t stay under the blankets

When I was in my local yarn store a few months ago, the lady showed me a pattern that she had just got in the shop and thought I would be as excited about it as she was. She knows I love to knit baby clothes for my grand babies. But no, I wasn’t excited about this one at all. I couldn’t imagine a baby actually using this sleeping bag! In fact she showed me two patterns that she thought I might like out of the new book, but I wasn’t really interested in either of them. The other pattern was this onesie.

As I was leaving the store, she mentioned that she must get a sleeping bag made up for the shop and since I had knitted other things for her, I offered to knit her one.

So I made a mauve coloured sleeping bag that sold the same day she put it into her shop. So she asked me to do a second one, this time in cream.

DSC_0003

As I was knitting this cream sleeping bag, my daughter happened to see it and thought she would like one as she was having trouble keeping her 3 month old wriggling baby under the blankets at night.

So I did end up making one for one of my grand babies after all.

DSC_0020

Just woken up after a sleep in her new sleeping bag.  She has had this sleeping bag now for about a month and she sleeps in it every night and keeps her warm.

So lesson for me, just because my kids didn’t have one when they were babies, doesn’t mean other babies shouldn’t want one. Time moves on!

UPDATED February 2014

Baby is now 7 months old and she still sleeps in this sleeping bag.

Pattern book – Peter Pan merino baby 355
Pattern – Baby Snuggle Bag
Yarn – Shepherd Merino 4 Me 8ply
Link to Ravelry project here

4 thoughts on “Baby sleeping bag for babies who won’t stay under the blankets

  1. A lot safer than using blankets too as there is no chance of baby slipping under them. I can confirm the pictured baby still uses this sleeping bag at 6 months old and loves it!

Leave a Reply

