Debbie Bliss Baby Cashmerino and the Teddy Bear Jacket

When my daughter was pregnant, we found the Debbie Bliss Baby Cashmerino book in our LYS.  And in that book, we found the pattern for the Teddy bear jacket and fell in love with it. Despite the price of the book, off we went home with the book in a bag. This little Teddy Bear jacket will be perfect for my daughter’s baby’s second winter.

The recommended wool for the Teddy Bear jacket is Debbie Bliss Baby Cashmerino which is an expensive wool. I looked to see if I could substitute with a slightly less expensive wool but it is 5 ply and therefore less readily available. I had read a few Ravelry comments from people who had knitted the Teddy Bear jacket with substituted yarn and they were often disappointed with the size and sometimes shape of the finished object.

So I decided I would use the recommended yarn, as this jacket is quite a lot of work and I don’t want it wasted by using the wrong yarn. I have been doing a bit of knitting for my LYS  and have been saving my knitting money to use for the Teddy Bear jacket and now I am ready to buy! How exciting.

But in the weekend I was doing a bit of Ravelry reading and I happened to stumble across the comments for the Debbie BLiss Baby Cashmerino and found that many people said that the yarn pilled badly. Some even said it was starting to pill even before they had finished knitting their garment! Now what am I going to do? There were just too many comments from people about the pilling, so I am not going to use this yarn.

I guess all I can do is to use a double knit or 4 ply yarn and try to get the tension right with a few tension squares. I feel just a tiny bit disappointed as this Teddy  Bear jacket has been planned for 12 months already and I want it to be just right.

UPDATED March 2014
I decided to buy the Debbie Bliss baby cashmerino yarn. I wanted it to be right. I have now finished the jacket and it fits baby perfectly. The yarn definitely did not pill as I was knitting it. It is soft and cuddly and I hope it remains like that after lots of wear and washing.

9 comments

  1. Hi,
    For what it’s worth, I’ve used DB Baby Cashmerino quite a bit and not had any problems with pilling. (I think it’s more of a problem if you use bigger needles but DB’s own patterns call for the ‘correct’ size so you should be okay.) If you do substitute, I think it’s closer to DK than 4-ply. The teddy jacket is a lovely pattern – hope it works out!

    1. Thanks for that. I need to update this post to tell you that I decided to buy baby cashmerino because I found it on special. And because of comments like yours which gave me confidence in the wool. I can’t wait to start it. I bought cream and a soft dusky pink for the teddies.

Leave a Reply

