Watermelon booties by Val Pierce

DSC_0002

These booties are actually called Roses and Violets and were meant to be pink and mauve. I had no mauve but I did have some green I had left over from the baby bunting I had made to decorate my grandbaby’s cot. I think the green and pink go really nicely together but of course, look nothing like Roses and Violets, so mine are called Watermelon booties.

DSC_0020

These Watermelon booties are made with 4ply and the pattern says to use a 3.75mm needle. Now that is quite a big needle for 4ply. So when first reading the pattern, I assumed the needle size would be 3.25mm so I “read” 3.25mm. It is very lucky that I “read” 3.25mm needle, as these Watermelon booties fit a 3 month old baby. (How can I be that specific? Because I tried them on my baby grandson, when his dad wasn’t looking, the week he turned 3 months old and they fitted his fat little feet perfectly.)

DSC_0011

Pattern book – Val Pierce – Twenty to Make – Knitted Baby Booties
Pattern – Roses and Violets
Yarn – Shepherd Baby Wool Merino 4ply and Cleckheaton Merino Bambino
Link to Ravelry project here

2 thoughts on “Watermelon booties by Val Pierce

Leave a Reply

