Baby bunting to decorate a cot

DSC_0001

Recently, my daughter’s best friend got married and her and her mum had made some beautiful bunting to decorate the bridal table. My daughter was to be the lucky recipient of this bunting for her “yet to be born” baby’s room. But this beautiful bunting got lost in the chaos of trying to clean up the reception and dance area of a wedding party who weren’t quite ready to go home.

DSC_0008

So my “yet to be born” grandbaby had no bunting for her room. So I knitted her some.

DSC_0007

I found a pattern on the internet for the bunting shape and then ad libbed the rest.

DSC_0005

I loved selecting the colours. I had decided to make the bunting out of acrylic yarn to keep the cost down but when I went into the local yarn store, I found myself moving towards the merino baby wool section. I couldn’t help myself. I just love the soft colours of the Shepherds baby merino wool.

DSC_0004

I had quite a few balls of white baby merino wool in my stash, so I made every second flag white but with a different pattern, using one of my stitch library books for inspiration.

DSC_0003

Once I had knitted enough flags, I then had to decide how to stitch them together. I was going to do an i-cord and turn the top of the flag over to make a hem to thread the i-cord through. But the edging on the top of the flag wasn’t deep enough to make a hem and keep the edging of the flags the same.

So I decided to make separate little white joiners and use them to stitch each flag together. There probably is a much neater way, but I’m happy.

Pattern book – No pattern used
Pattern – No pattern used
Yarn – Shepherd Baby Wool Merino 4ply
Link to Ravelry project here

5 thoughts on “Baby bunting to decorate a cot

  1. I love how it came out! I think I may have to try something similar with crochet sts. :) I love how they are all different, but they all came out the same size and shape. I’m so excited about it, lol!

    • :-)
      Thanks. Your comment made me happy. :-)
      Actually for one of the flags I used an acrylic from my stash that someone had given me (variegated baby wool) and it isn’t as well shaped as the woollen ones and doesn’t sit as nice so it’s not in a prominent place.

  2. Pingback: Watermelon booties by Val Pierce | Knanaknits

Leave a Reply

