Purple garter stitch baby kimono and first time using DPNs

DSC_0054

I found this wool in a bin at my local yarn store. The light in the shop was not the best and I thought I was buying navy blue for a jumper for our grandson. But when I got it home I found it to be purple. I love this beautiful rich purple colour but my husband didn’t think it was appropriate for our grandson, so our yet to be born granddaughter has ended up with yet another cardy.

DSC_0048

I love this garter stitch kimono shaped cardigan and that the body was knitted in one piece and joined at the shoulders. By what I could determine from the pattern, it seemed as though you  pick up stitches for the sleeves before joining the shoulder but if you did the sleeves this way there would be a seam at the top of the sleeve, which I thought may not look so good.

So I sewed up the shoulder and went to buy a circular needle (for the first time) but realised you can’t buy circular needles that small. So instead I bought double pointed needles (DPNs), also for the first time and attempted my sleeves.

DPNs

I failed miserably on the first attempt. There were ladders of  loose stitch lines up the sleeve where I had moved from one needle to the next. After searching online, I found this to be a common problem for newbies using DPNs. So I unravelled the sleeve and started again, this time knitting tighter, the two stitches immediately following each needle change. This was better but you can still see lines up my sleeves which I am not entirely happy with. I guess it just takes practice. If anyone has any tips on using DPNs without the ladder effect, please leave me a comment.

DSC_0057

But regardless of the laddered sleeves, I do love this kimono. I made a little crochet chain and attached to the inside so that the kimono could be tied on the inside as well as buttoned on the outside. The pattern is free on Ravelry if you would like to try it.

UPDATED July 2013 to show the baby wearing it. She is two and a half weeks old and it was still just a little bit big. She was 7lb 5oz born. That may give you an idea of the size of the kimono if you are thinking of making it.

Image

UPDATED September 2013
I have since used DPNs again and found them easy with no ladders appearing but that was in stocking stitch so I was doing every round in knit. This kimono is garter stitch so you had to do knit and purl rows to get the garter stitch effect. Maybe that is why I kept getting ladders? Here is my the link to may second DPN attempt. Note it is just the waistband done on DPNs but not a ladder in sight. 

Pattern book – N/A
Pattern – Garter stitch kimono
Yarn – Cleckheaton Merino Bambino
Link to Ravelry project here

8 comments

  1. I’ve heard something like you can knit into the back of the stitch and then when you come back around, untwist that stitch as you work it, but I’ve not tried it as I have pretty good luck just pulling my stitches tight and then evening the stitches during blocking. In any case, congrats on your DPN progress! People always seem impressed when you’ve several needles going.

    1. Thanks so much for that Katie. Maybe with your encouraging comment, I just might try again. I am very reluctant to try DPNs again but if you can do it by pulling the stitch tight, it must be doable :-)
      I could try the twist if I need to as well. Thank you for leaving this comment for me.

Leave a Reply

