Royal NZ Plunket Society baby singlet

DSC_0022

I was so lucky to be given this beautiful Plunket baby singlet pattern and the Debbie Bliss Rialto Lace 2ply wool.

I have  never used 2ply before and it felt like I was knitting with silk. It was beautifully soft and light and sometimes I couldn’t even feel the yarn in my hands as I was knitting. I made two of these beautiful singlets, one for the local yarn store and one for my “yet to be born” grandbaby girl.

This is such a dainty baby singlet pattern and very quick and easy to make.

DSC_0019

The lace was easy to knit. Just the standard K2 tog yarn over needle for one and K1 S1 PSSO for another. It just looks more difficult because the wool is so fine.

DSC_0018

When I first realised that the pattern had a crochet edge I was a little bit horrified. It is all very well picking up my knitting needles after twenty five years but picking up a crochet hook? I used to crochet intricate doilies but that was a long time ago. I didn’t have a clue how to do a DC or a  treble crochet. I had bravely accepted my first piece of knitting for a local yarn store sample and I had visions of  me taking it back incomplete and telling them I couldn’t finish the edge because I had forgotten how to crochet. That just wouldn’t do!

So I went out and bought a 3.25m crochet hook. I sat down read the pattern and then I googled. Oh how quickly it all come back to me. The crochet edge is made up of double and treble crochet and I loved working with the crochet hook once again to create this delicate little shell edging.

My daughter does keep reminding me that her baby only has a 90% chance of being a girl. But that is good enough for me. If she has a boy…I won’t make him wear this lace singlet, I promise.

DSC_0028

UPDATED July 2013. The baby was a girl and the singlet looks so cute on her. This one was made on 3mm needles and fitted Mia from about 2 weeks. She is an average size baby.
Image 16
The link to the free pattern is here. If you have any problems accessing the pattern from the link, leave me a message as I have permission from Plunket to share this pattern.
Pattern book – N/A
Pattern – Royal NZ Plunket Society Baby Singlet
Yarn – Debbie Bliss Rialto Lace
Link to Ravelry project here
72 comments

    1. What a beautiful singlet I would be so grateful if you would send me a copy. Like you I now knit for my beloved grandchildren and I look forward to knitting this. Thank you in advance

  1. Beautiful pattern of an unusual baby singlet. I am knitting for my first granddaughter due late July and would love to knit the singlet. Is it 2 ply and could I please have an email copy. I would be so grateful. Thank you Stella

  2. Hello, such a beautiful singlet! I would love a copy of the pattern if it’s not too much trouble. Love your other knitting projects, what very lucky grandchildren to have such a special nana that knits such beautiful things for them!

  3. Hi, that is just beautiful. I am park of Marlborough Plunket and have lots of lovely knitters knit singlets for Marlborough’s most precious and would love a copy to give to these ladies as I am sure they get fed up knitting the same thing over and over.

  4. Hi what a beautiful singlet :) would love a copy of the pattern please if it’s no trouble? Thank you in advance.

  5. How gorgeous, just the type of piece I love my little girl to wear, and her nanna knits very well! (Luckily as I am terrible but can sew at least).

  6. I would also LOVE a copy of this pattern if at all possible. My friend just had a bubba, and her nana loves working in small knits. I might try and convince my mum to knit one for my littlie, due in july. Address is jusdean at gmail dot com
    Thanks so much!

  7. :) I would love a copy of this pattern – what a gorgeous little singlet! My little girl has some knitted singlets and they are wonderful, they grow with your baby and keep them so snuggly and warm!

  8. Hi there how lovely the singlet has turned out. When you have a spare moment I would really appreciate a copy of the pattern. I’ve never crocheted though – eek!

  9. I really love your singlet. I have a good friend who has a three month old baby girl and a 1 year old boy which I would like to knit some singlets for, but don’t have any baby pattens. Do you have any other singlet patten other than the one you have shown. Would you email me the patten for your lovely singlet and any other pattens please. Thank you for your help. Louisa

  10. May i please have a copy of this exquisite singlet. I have been knitting for 65 years and love working in 2ply because it is so delicate
    grandma Jo

  11. I just love this singlet pattern. Yes 2 ply is so delicate but quite a range of different 2 ply yarns. Finally learned how to crochet. I would love a copy of this pattern. Thanks Monique

  12. Oh i’m so excited to have found such a beautiful pattern….i’m a very pregnant soon to be mommy and think i just have time to knit this up before the little lady comes into the world.Thankyou SO much for sharing the pattern,can hardly wait to get a copy,Jodie.

  13. Hi, could I please have a copy of the beautiful plunket lace singlet? I also read that you have another pattern for a baby singlet. Once you have scanned it could I please have a copy of that. I have a daughter who loves knitted singlets for her little one, she wears them as outer wear, a little like t shirts, so would like to have a go and knit some. Thanks :-)

  14. I have knitted nearly 100 of these singlets – every baby I have been associated with has had 3. This pattern is the same as the one I used from an early English Women’s Weekly. I discovered that they were more practical done in 2 X 2 rib as were not so inclined to roll when being worn.
    As the baby grew I used the same pattern and 3 ply, made them longer and they fitted the next year.
    Even the baby boys wore them – the lace not really important in the first year.

    1. Just had a quick look at the pattern – the 3ply one I used 91 stitches – and made it longer – then it fits 12 – 18months

      1. Thanks so much for this Jan. I will update my blog post with this wonderful information. I love this pattern. I’ve just done another one for a fiend’s baby.

Leave a Reply

