Baby cardigan. Frilly but not too frilly. Lacy but not too lacy.

DSC_0004 A wee while ago, I knitted my first  pair of baby leggings. The leggings are for a baby girl and I had enough wool left over to make a cardigan. But I didn’t want a plain cardigan. I wanted something feminine and pretty but nothing too lacy or fussy. I wondered if I would ever find just the right pattern.

And then one day when I wasn’t looking for anything in particular, I found this pattern. Perfect. I could make it as lacy or as frilly as I wanted. DSC_0005 I love the frills at the bottom and have never made anything like this before but don’t be daunted by them. They were very easy. DSC_0013 The frills were made by starting with lots of stitches (161 just for the back of the cardigan) and then decreasing (down to 65 stitches) to form the little  frill. The moss stitch (also known as seed stitch) added an extra little bit of detail before moving into the single lace panel.

Just right. Not too lacy. Not too frilly. Not too plain.

UPDATED Oct 2013 with a picture of the baby modelling the cardigan. She is 4 months old in this photo and it still fits her. Her leggings are made in matching wool.

Image 3

Pattern book – Sirdar Snuggly 4ply 3941
Pattern – Border pattern round neck cardigan
Yarn – Cleckheaton Merino Bambino
Link to Ravelry project here

6 comments

Leave a Reply

