A warm hoody for a wee baby girl

DSC_0078

I had never knitted a hoody before I made this one. When my children were little, I don’t think there were such things as baby knitted hoodies. At least not as cute as this.

I fell in love with this gorgeous little pattern and decided it would be just right in a soft pink for my first grand daughter who is due to be born in the middle of the southern hemisphere winter. I knitted this in soft baby merino wool since this is her first double knit item and I wanted to make sure it was going to feel soft as well as warm.

DSC_0048

The hood was knitted quite differently to the hood on the little boy’s hoodie I made a few weeks later. I think this one was simpler and it fits just as well.

The pattern size is 0 to 3 months but I think it will be closer to fitting at 3 months rather than 0 months but it will still be cold enough to wear this even when she is 3 months old.

DSC_0074

This was a simple knit. A simple slip stitch pattern that adds an extra little detail.

DSC_0073

I was worried we wouldn’t find the right buttons but our local yarn store had these very cute candy striped ones that were just right.

UPDATED September 2013 with photos of baby wearing the hoodie. She is an average size baby girl and fitted this from 6 weeks and is still wearing it at 4 months.

DSC_0007

Pattern book – Patons Newborn Collection
Pattern – Corey
Yarn – Shepherd Baby Wool Merino 8ply
Link to Ravelry here

4 thoughts on “A warm hoody for a wee baby girl

  1. Pingback: A warm hoody for a wee baby boy | Knanaknits

  2. Pingback: Sirdar double knit hoodie for baby | Knanaknits

Leave a Reply

