White Jessica set II

White Patons Jessica Picot Edge baby cardigan, hat and booties

DSC_0015

This is a little 4 ply cardigan, hat and booties with a picot edge made in 4ply merino baby wool.

It was very quick and easy to knit. Even the sewing was quick, despite the picot edges needing to be folded and slip stitched but I didn’t mind. I actually like sewing up knitted garments. Most people seem to despise the sewing up. So much so that I know people who have a knitted bits and pieces that have been sitting for a number of years waiting to be sewn. What a waste of all that beautiful knitting. To me the sewing up is a bit like the final tribute to all that hard work you have put in, seeing it slowly turn into the finished object.

DSC_0014

The cardigan is newborn size and took two 50g balls of Shepherds baby merino 4ply wool. The wool is very soft and beautiful to knit with. Although I was a bit disappointed when I used the same wool to sew my baby shawl as there were knots in the balls of wool and that annoys me. This shouldn’t happen at over $10 NZ per ball (over 5 British pounds).

The picot edge is knitted and then folding during the making up by slip stitching the little hem. Very easy and effective.

DSC_0013

The hat is a little cutie. The newborn size looks a perfect size for a newborn. The baby this is made for is due in June (the middle of the New Zealand winter) so I hope she is a “normal” newborn size if there is such a thing. It should fit her for a couple of months, (maybe). Never mind if it doesn’t, I can quickly make another one. It only used about half of a 50g ball.

The picot edge on this hat was made the same way as the cardigan.

DSC_0005

These very, very cute booties almost did not get made. In fact the whole set almost didn’t get made. I had attempted another pair of picot edge booties a month or so earlier and they were so difficult to make, I gave up. The picot edge was done (the same as these booties) by picking up a stitch of a previous row (about 4 rows prior to the one you are knitting) and in the first pair of booties I attempted, there was no differentiation between the rows so it was impossible to pick up hte right stitch. I ended up pulling those booties off the needles after many attempts and sore fingers.

I didn’t want to make this little picot edge set as I had horror thoughts of those previous booties but my daughter had fallen in love with this little Patons “Jessica” pattern so I had no choice but to try.

These little picot booties were easy. (Well not easy but definitely doable.) The row that you had to pick up from was easy to see as it was the first of the stocking stitch rows after garter stitch, so easy to differentiate. I’m glad my daughter insisted on this picot edge set, as I love the way it has turned out.

DSC_0018

UPDATED June 2013 with a link to the little pants I made to match this set.

DSC_0015

UPDATED June 2013 with a picture of the little newborn feet inside these booties. (Th bump inside the booties is the hospital identity tag)

Pattern book – Patons Newborn Collection
Pattern – Jessica
Yarn – Shepherd Baby Wool Merino 4ply
Link to Ravelry here

11 comments

  1. Aaah I had the same problems but I could not find any tips online with how you are supposed to do it. I didn’t know what the edging was called so thanks for naming it for me :) I actually used a crochet needle to make it easier for myself to pick out the stitches too. That sped things up a lot. Love your knitting projects, I hope to be able to knit so many so well with more practice! We definitely have the same pattern book, I’m loving so many of the things inside :)

  2. Hi there, what a beautiful job you have done at this pattern. I am currently trying to knit it for my second baby due on August. I am doing the little hat ATM but when I get to the 15th row I drop 10 stitches. I’m not sure how this is happening. I thought it might be because I was doing the yfwd wrong but I’m not, I have googled and youtubed it and I seem to be doing it right. It also doesn’t specify wether to sl the stitch kw or pw and also if you are meant to bring the wool back under the needle after you have stepped the stitch so that you can knit the the next stich or leave or over creating another stitch????? If you could clarify this for me I would appreciate it so much! I am getting sick if pulling it and restarting. Thanks :)!

    1. A few things. Firstly, if the pattern doesn’t specify slipping knitwise or purlwise, I always slip knitwise if I am on the knit side of a garment.
      Also, when you say that you are not sure if you should bring the wool back under the needle after you have stepped the stitch. By stepping the stitch do you mean after you have passed the slip stitch over? Sorry, it is just that isn’t a terminology that I know. But regardless, on row 15, there shouldn’t be a time when the yarn is on the other side and therefore needs bringing back. I am wondering if you are ending up with the yarn on the wrong side when you are doing the yfwd. Because that is a knit side, I do the yfwd from the back of the needle over to the front and it ends up on the correct side for your next knit stitch.

      When I get stuck with my knitting, I pop down to my local yarn store and they put me on the right track. I am wondering if that might be something you could do? Do you live near one?

      If I am working the numbers of the pattern out correctly and you are losing 10 stitches, I think there is something going on with your yfd. Good luck and best wishes with your second baby.

      I would love to hear how you get on.

  3. I can’t seem to find the pattern for the picot edge booties – I think they are gorgeous and would like to try them……

Leave a Reply

