A treasured baby shawl for my first grandson

DSC_0013 DSC_0012

This shawl was made for my husband’s daughter’s first baby. The pattern was adapted from a blanket pattern which used aran wool. I wanted a soft baby shawl so the new baby can be wrapped up and cuddled on his first outings.

I am very happy with the way this shawl came out. I would definitely make this again as the pattern was quite quick to “read” which meant less focus was required.

UPDATED May 2013
Someone came across my blog by searching on a question “do people still use baby shawls these days?”
I just wanted to say that my step daughter wasn’t really sure when I made her this shawl, what she would do with it (first baby).
Now that her baby is 3 weeks old, this shawl is never far from baby. It is used as a blanket on the bassinet, a car seat blanket, a breast feeding cover and a warm cover when he is being cuddled or winded when it is cold.
The shawl is soft enough and light enough to be used for any purpose and is able to “scrunch up” quite small.

UPDATED June 2013 to show photos of baby and shawl.

DSC_0040

A blanket in his bassinet.

Image

Something nice and soft to play on.

Image 4

It even goes in the car.

Pattern – Free online pattern which is now unavailable.
Yarn – Shepherd baby Wool Merino 4 ply
Link to Ravelry project here

7 comments

  1. Hi. Would there be any way that you could send me the pattern for the shawl, I just love it :)
    Thanks, Lyndsay.

Leave a Reply

